Incredibish

By Incredibish

Stopped

Not so much an exemplar of photographic skill and creativity... more a sample of my day. I set out this morning to drive to Oxford for work, leaving at 07h30. I immediately realised why I almost never go to Oxford, and ended up sat in standing traffic which inched forward barely fifteen miles in ninety minutes. 

Hey ho, I thought. Nearly every one of these cars is occupied by one person - including mine. In fairness I could have got all the bits and bobs I needed for the days work in my motorcycle panniers, and I pondered how different the roads would be if motorcycling was promoted as a green alternative to commuting, rather than a hobby undertaken by devil-ridden teenagers intent on mischief and lawlessness.

On the way home I decided to take the motorway rather than the A-roads I crawled along in the morning. Sadly, that was doomed also, as a truck had gone over, spilling fuel and cargo all across the highway. This time the fifteen miles of so tailback took two hours. And finally I got home.

Motorcycling has its risks and they aren't casually brushed aside. But even the Green Party are sniffy about them as an alternative to cars. And cars, I mean, they're built to take four or five and generally carry one. Roads are crushingly congested now. Surely it's worth considering... not everyone can cycle to work, but lots could motorcycle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.