Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Busy night

Archie had a bit of a wander about 2am last night. This is unusual, so he probably wanted out for a piddle. I took him out. He did not want a piddle. He wanted to waken the whole neighbourhood. He gave one of his high pitched yip-yip-yip-YAP special barks.

That was such good fun, when he was hurried back in, he didn't settle - he wanted to do it again. JR took him out. He did a wee piddle weewee. But he also had another go at waking up any remaining sleepers...

He has developed a few little defiant behaviours.

'Archie, sit'.
'No, I don't particularly want to at the moment...'

'Archie, come!'
'What? Now? I'm busy!'


He reminds me so much of certain pupils I have had the dubious pleasure of knowing in my career. Not that I told them to Sit! or Come!

When I couldn't sleep after the wanderer did finally settle, I finished my book - very depressing - 'In Search of Adam'. Also finished 'Girl on a Train' a day or so ago, which I found was repetitive and rather predictable. Now reading 'H for Hawk'. This Kindle with a backlight has certainly proved its worth. Sitting for an hour while Archie has a snooze on my lap mid morning is ideal reading time. And I don't always fall asleep...

I had a brainwave during my sleepless hour or so. The baby doggie gate only fits IN the door frame, despite getting extensions. This is not ideal, because it would have to be set up and put away each time we used it. It needed to be on the outside, so that the door could close. I needed at least another 10cms. And I knew where I could find it! In the wood shed - a nice fat bit of 4x4 pallet.

And so, the dog door is fixed in place outside the door. I made use of it today to hang the washing out. Archie barked from inside the gate. I decided to try to knock this behaviour on the head. So I let him bark. I stood with my back to him while he yapped his head off. When he stopped, I turned to him and praised him. I then walked a bit further away. He barked. I waited till he stopped. We did this many times, with me getting away out on to the grass. Pity that it decided to snow and sleet. I hope no neighbours were looking out at the madwoman standing out in the sleet, staring skyward. And why that bloomin' dog was barking...

He looks innocent here, but he'd been up at the window, harrumphing at yelly school children passing outside.

Mind you, I have been known to do that too...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.