a lifetime burning

By Sheol

The Paintworks at night #2

I've mentioned the Paintworks development in Bristol before in this journal. Its a former paint factory that has been lovingly brought back into use and is now a combination of offices, housing, bars and performance/exhibition  space.  If you drive into Bristol from the Bath direction at night you go past the Paintworks, and you will not have failed to see the large coloured light blocks, two red and one blue.  

I've had it in mind to get a shot of the wider development at night for a while now.  In the end I have still not managed it, and this is only a small corner of the site.  This view is taken from the far bank of the river Avon, so is a much less familiar side of the development.   (My earlier blip about the Paintworks development is here.)

Getting the blip involved walking through a park and alongside the river path (which doubles as a cycle track).  As it was dark and not terribly well lit and I had not explored this side of the Avon in the day, it was a slightly anxious expedition on my part.  I think that the few other pedestrians that I passed were just as twitchy as I was.  I did come across a lady exercising her two dogs, and they seemed just as nervous judging from the racket they caused when we nearly bumped into each other.  Fortunately she had them on a lead, and soon had them under control.  I might otherwise have had to sacrifice my tripod - one of the few occasions when I would have wished I was carrying around a heavier piece of kit.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.