In My World

By JoanneInOz

It's a wrap! (MM Ancient Buildings)

I had an idea of what photo I would be adding to my journal today, that is until the mail arrived.

Don't you just love getting mail?....(the old fashioned variety I mean, hand written, dropped into your mailbox outside the house, by the mailman....)


My cousins from the Isle of Man sent me the most lovely calendar, with scenes around the Isle of Man, and what a beautiful country it looks to be! My cousins and I have been in touch a bit lately, and I am beginning to learn a bit about their Celtic country, which is in the Irish Sea between the UK and Ireland.

The Isle of Man even has it's own language, Manx, which is apparently spoken by only a few people nowadays. I guess it's similar to Wales, they have their own language, but it is predominantly an English speaking country.

The photo for February on my new calendar is the Old Braddan Church, which I have looked up on Google, and have learned that it was built in the 1700's. What better image could I share with you today, than something "ancient", for my final wrap up as host for Mono Monday during February? (I chose full colour though, rather than mono, as this photo looks better in colour.)

I can't tell you enough what a joy it has been to host the challenge for the last four weeks ~ with week one being "Spirit", week two "China/china", week three "Bridge", and this final week, "Ancient Buildings". Thank you to everyone who has contributed during the month, you all really make these mono photo challenges a pleasure to be a part of!

"Ancient Buildings" has been my personal favourite of the themes this month. I have read through every entry and enjoyed every minute of it, so thank you for all of your research work you have done, to accompany your photos.

And now to the hearts....again, only five to hand out, and I could do with more of them!

Nevermore had the brilliant idea of looking through old slides, to find some very ancient buildings.

Horomaka not only has a wonderful photo, but has added some interesting family history connected to his entry.

KF's photo is just downright beautiful.

Ellisroger has included a magnificent castle, complete with a moat.

Miranda's entry is taken inside an ancient building, which houses a very famous table.

Also on the short list was Majoayee, Thompson Twin, Inverculain, Hildasrose, davidc, BrianH and Musselburghlass, but I could add more!!

Next week, Chantler63 takes over hosting for the month of March, and her first theme for the month is "On The Move" and don't forget to tag your entry "mm57". Chantler63 has a reason for choosing this theme, she will be on the move herself, traveling back home to the UK after having spent the last few weeks here in Australia. With that in mind, I will send out a reminder through my journal entry on Sunday, just in case anyone forgets the details. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.