We all love a bullfinch

I was busy from early morning right through to supper time today.  I managed to have a short break at about midday when I went out to the cabin in the garden with my camera and the new lens I talked about yesterday.  The day has been quite cloudy with only occasional patches of direct sun later this afternoon.

I filled up the bird feeders and placed them in the rhus tree and set up my tripod and the camera.  It didn't take more than a couple of minutes before a robin appeared closely followed by two nuthatches, some blue tits, a blackbird, both male and female blackcaps, a pair of robins and three bullfinches. Not all of them came to the feeders, some were just grazing on the ground below or where I'd also spread some sunflower seeds and suet pellets.

But this bullfinch decided to hang about and went to have his fill at the feeder, grinding the seeds in his big beak and dropping lots of bits down below in quite large quantities.  He liked both the tray feeder as well as the hanging caged variety and sat for minutes at a time on both and then took intermissions on branches such as this one to aid digestion I presume.  I think you can see bits of seed around his beak even now.

So having now seen all the images I took in a half hour period I must say I'm very pleased with their quality of sharpness and colour fidelity.  Given brighter conditions it can only get better too.

Edit:
Having just looked at this blip entry now it has uploaded, I must say  once again how poor this image is when the webpage reproduces it compared to the original.  It isn't really a good showcase for photographers' work.  The 'Large' version is much better.  I wonder if they will get it better one day as it is definitely a compromise at present.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.