I had to meet Bruce today to finalise the poster he is designing for the Neighbourhood Plan's week of community involvement.  I left it quite late in the afternoon hoping that the weather might brighten and it did.  I drove to the edge of the town centre thinking about where i might take my new lens to put it through its paces with the limited time I had available before meeting Bruce.

I had thought of another mill pond scene at Fromehall, but when I saw in the distance the crane moving very slightly, I realised that it might be just the right subject.  It is on a building site for a new care home for elderly people replacing a small garage on the banks of the canal.  It is a very tight site so the crane is essential for bringing in all the materials.

I drove into the carpark of the Homebase store next door and wandered around the car park to find a good angle and to get back far enough.  The crane wasn't very busy so I had to wait for its brief lifts of a large cement bucket and its placement on the far side of the building.  I wanted to check how well it picked up the details of the structure and wires as well as showing the crane driver in his pod.  I'm pleased to see that I can nearlt make out the writing on a notice behind the driver's head in the cab.  Considering this was being hand held I think that is a good result.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.