Susan

I asked after her name and as soon as she said Susan I realised that I'd photographed her before. Any other day, less spaced out, less stressed, and I'm sure I would have remembered her right away. How could I possibly have forgotten such an incredibly beautiful face? The mitigating circumstances are that it was right at the beginning of my thousand faces journey, and somehow I'd hit the streets without a memory card in the camera. The shots I took of her back then never became photographs at all. I remember being completely devastated on seeing that empty slot when I went to retrieve the card. I don't think I recorded my disappointment on blip because it was all rather embarrassing at the time. I'm so glad that today she gave me another chance. I hope I have managed to capture both her strength and her serenity, as well as her shyness.

It's not been an easy day, the pressure building on delivering this new application for the end of the week. I've tried to ignore the bigger picture and simply focus on ticking off one issue at a time. There's nothing more that I can really do than that. I set out today to remain positive despite not feeling great. When I got stuck on something it got a bit overwhelming and that positivity was left hanging by a very thin thread, but it never fell off completely!

I really appreciated all the kind words yesterday. It's good to know I have so many wonderful friends looking out for me. You know who you are. Thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.