A modern reader

This morning, early, I took Young L to the Dental Clinic for an extraction. He answered every question the Dental Technician asked him with "Yup!". Just like he does with me; open ended questions very occasionally produce a wonderful rambling discourse. I ensured that she knew that Young L had been advised that she was going to wiggle his tooth out. Not totally incorrect.

He was impressively calm, tolerant of pain and co-operative with the tech's needs to do her job well. Twice he said "ow"; and on neither occasion did he move beyond a few twitches of his crossed feet. He was sent home to spend the day quietly with hisGrandpa. For him, that meant watching Tintin DVDs. I really think he could have gone back to school and gained some tough boy points. He was happy chillin' out with Grandpa.

After S and Mr H had got home, we all went to the boys home as Mr H had a Lego construction to show us. He has taken the bits and pieces the boys have to create two World War I tanks, and some soldiers, as well as a more modern personnel carrier. He then invited me to see his construction of a WWI trench. It was so sensitively done,including a patch of poppies in front of the trench.

He has become fascinated with (and horrified by) the history, which he has an almost intuitive grasp of. His history teacher mother finds that he understands concepts her much older pupils struggle with. 

I left them (and the rapidly growing puppy) and went for a walk along Ponsonby Road. My One Street. On the way back I saw a young man reading a Kindle. I approached him, introduced myself and asked his permission to take his photograph while he carried on reading. He agreed with an amused smile.

I then explained about Blipfoto, about the Readersworld group, and that many people from many countries may see the photo. I swear that he almost said "Cool!"; instead he just said "That's okay"

Reader   Michael
Book   Forging Divinity by Andrew Rowe (on Kindle) 
Place  Ponsonby Fish & Chip Co, Ponsonby Road
Refreshment  Fanta Orange

When he told me the title, I must have paused (trying to work out the next question) long enough for him to notice, and he quickly explained that it is fantasy novel (with which he seemed not greatly impressed). I thanked him, and went on my way.

Another Ponsonby Road photo

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.