Mindseye

By Mindseye

Fairfield Moravian Settlement

This settlement backs onto the Grammar school in my home town.....that I could have gone to had I passed my 11+ . I didn't want to go to the grammar school because I had set my heart on shorthand, typing and business studies which were fairly new back then and only taught at the secondary modern school!

I know this shot is a bit on the dark side, but I like it because it highlights how the sun was shining on the bell and clock tower. The bell does still chime, and it's a pleasant traditional sound, which I heard as it struck 4 this afternoon, just after I had taken this shot.

If you are interested to learn more about this settlement which dates back from 1785, click on the link below :-)

http://www.moravian.org.uk/index.php/uk-congregations-list-for-the-moravian-church/lancashire-district/fairfield

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.