Dancing in Reykjavik

I woke to a beautiful sunny morning in Reykjavik.  After my long journey yesterday with the 4-hr delay, I decided to have a slow morning and take a city tour at 1pm.  Unfortunately, just as the tour was starting the clouds gathered and it started to snow.  I'm never put off by a bit of snow, but it really did come down fast and the high winds from yesterday (which had closed the airport) seemed to return.  Some of the beautiful vistas of the city were obscured by the low cloud and the outdoor visits were bitterly cold!  In addition, one of the main stops, Hallgrimskirkja Church, was closed due to a funeral, so we could only see the outside.  Thankfully, it is close to my guesthouse, so I will go back on my own.  

One of our stops was The Perlan (The Pearl), a landmark building sitting on the top of a hill just outside of the city.  It originally housed hot water storage tanks, but recently a dome was added, and now it used for exhibitions, concerts, with a upscale restaurant and a cafe.  There is a viewing platform all the way around where I spent all of about 3 minutes!  
 
These 4 alien-like dancing figures stood outside the building.  They were created by Torbjorg Palsdottir in 1970.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.