Rock Lobster

We went to Ohau this morning to see the colony of fur seals. Fur seals are actually a variety of sea lion, you can tell this by the front flippers and the external ears. We had a great view of them in the bright sunshine. The adults are loafing about or swimming among the rocks and there are loads of young seals clambering around and calling to their mothers. There are some pics here of the seals and cubs. These are the seals that send their pups up to pool under a waterfall where they can practice their social and swimming skills before they return to their mothers and the sea. There was programme on TV about it a while back. It's usually March and April before that happens but there are sometimes pups there earlier. We went to take a look but there weren't any seals there. The waterfall is quite attractive though so I've put a shot of that up too.

I spotted this old tin shack at Half Moon Bay. It's next to Nin's Bin, where they catch, cook and sell crayfish (also known as rock lobster) from an old caravan (eat here or takeaway). I thought it would look better when the sun had gone over a bit further so I went back this evening. Didn't know what to choose for my blip but this one just edged it. You can make your choice by clicking the link and I'd be pleased if you'd let me know which you'd have chosen.

David

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.