Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Passing on the Knowledge...

Another day, another walk up the Kowhai Stream with the dogs. Today though I had extra human company; this weekend we're looking after a friend's seventeen year old daughter, who also just happens to be studying photography in her final NCEA year at school in Timaru.

She's finding her feet with her Canon, so today we had a bit of a photowalk, giving her the opportunity to quiz me about best settings for landscapes and taking nature photography shots - something she's not done too much of.  

I've known M since she was a toddler (has it really been that long?!) so it's strange to think that this inquisitive, sensitive young woman is the same little girl that I used to carry around on my shoulders. And what makes it even better is that she loves photography too.  It's great to spend some time with her again. Hopefully she won't ask me too many curly photography questions!

Whilst we were out on our walk - and whilst M was snapping away gleefully - I spotted this broken fuchsia branch, lying upside down on the shaded pebbles of the river bed. I thought the simplicity of it lying there was beautiful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.