Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The culture clash that is Malaga

I left Cordoba behind with a twinge of sadness after 3 lovely days there, but was ready to go on the last leg of my Spanish adventure.  I eschewed the bus for the train, and was impressed by the efficiency, cleanliness and space.  The train ran on time too.

Arriving in Malaga was a culture shock. Suddenly I could hear a lot of English spoken and there seemed to be elderly Brits everywhere. They tottered around with sticks, walkers or in wheelchairs.  There were younger, retired, tourists too and it was warm enough for shorts to be the order of the day!

My hotel was another culture shock. It's larger than my usual and the receptionists are grumpy men who have never been to charm school.

My room was not ready so I walked via Tourist Information (what hopeless maps they give out) to the CAC (Centro de Arte Contemporanio). There are large white galleries and all the works on display have room to breathe.

One temporary exhibition is by artist Adrian Ghenie, a young Romanian artist.  His large canvases are disturbing and make uncomfortable viewing in the main. I chose this image because the couple are hand in hand as they contemplate the painting and their silhouette is almost contained within its boundaries.

The food at the gallery cafe was exquisite.

On my way back, I fell in with a political rally for the UPD and was able to photograph their leader.  It was a very good natured affair.

After a short siesta in my tiny airless room,  (Later I asked and no the aircon is not working because its winter!), I went out and found a highly recommended tiny taverna. The food was again wonderful.

Now the streets belonged to the young as they gathered in groups, hailing friends and consulting their smart phones. I saw hardly any drinking and the atmosphere was happy.

It was a National Holiday today and all museums were free to enter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.