Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Visit to Birmingham

My day started with the train journey to Birmingham. On settling myself in the Quiet Coach I saw a young woman by the opposite window who was applying lashings of mascara and other face paint whilst talking loudly on her phone. By the time someone asked her to stop we had all heard about her hopes for when she is sentenced next week - doesn't want to be tagged - to what happened when she was last paralytic and a male friend tattooed his name on her breast. "I'll never wear a low cut top again, never, ever"! It was all more fascinating than perhaps it should have been. She showed no sign that she was playing to the gallery and left with very good grace when a nice man approached her with a finger to his lips. I wonder.............

So I'm settled in my Premier Inn room high above New Street Station, which is a very central base for my stay. This evening I walked to the Birmingham rep for a performance of The Life of Galileo with Ian McDiarmid in the title role. Excellent and thought provoking.

This water feature is as you enter Victoria Square.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.