Consolation

I went up to the ridge about midday - but there was nothing.  Absolutely nothing.  Dead silence, no birds, no flowers, no insects, not even ants and flies.  It was strangely foreboding, and I didn't care for the atmosphere at all.  Maybe I've been watching too many episodes of Body Farm or something.

So I came back home, and determined to make some doughnuts.

We are getting towards the end of Great British Bake-off (yes, I know, the series finished months ago, but we  get the semis next week, and I really don't want to know who wins, so British Blippers - zip, please).  They did doughnuts in the quarter finals, so that was the inspiration.

The last time I made doughnuts I would have been all of 17, which is more years ago than I care to remember, and it was also BPH. (Before Paul Hollywood).  Anyway I could never get them to cook right, and they were always raw in the middle

Now, I know my fat was too hot, and I didn't cook them long enough.

This lot still didn't cook right - they were overdone, but they were not raw in the middle and tasted pretty good.  I'll give myself a 5 out of 10, and permission to keep on practicing! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.