Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

View from the ski gondola

It was a miserable day today - snowing which developed into rain, and everything soon became very slushy. I had already decided not to ski today as I hate skiing in the rain, so I had a slow start to the morning while Gavin and Luke left at 8.15am to get the lift up to Avoriaz. It was raining with poor visibility but they skied all morning, going across into Switzerland.

The hotel we are staying in is very basic and breakfast consisted of tea/coffee with baguette and jam served on a tray in your room. As I cannot have gluten it meant I had no breakfast, so after I got dressed I wandered (slipping and sliding in the slush) into town where I found a delightful coffee shop called Dotty's Coffee House run by some English girls - in fact everyone in there was English. I had a very good flat white before walking to the bus stop to get the bus to the Avoriaz gondola. This took me to the top of the mountain where I met Gavin and Luke for lunch.

Now Luke is busy having a pilates class before he has his final meeting and instructions for his final assessment which begins tomorrow morning. This is a two week assessment to get his level 2 qualification and after that he will be coming home again. Some of the other candidates on the course plan to be instructors as their full time career, so next season they will continue to level 3 and then 4 which is required if they wish to work in France (although not anywhere else). This will take them another 2 years to get to that level due to the necessary number of instructing hours that are required.

This is a view taken from the ski gondola descending from Avoriaz. It was very misty and raining as you can see.

We leave to go home tomorrow morning.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.