FlyingPRGal

By FlyingPRGal

Stop/start Sunday

On the face of it a bright, sunny day with blue sky and no clouds would be a perfect Sunday for a flying gal. Throw in gusty wind blasting straight across the runway and all of a sudden not so perfect.

I don't know why I was so disappointed seeing as the weather was pretty much as predicted when I looked at the 3-day aviation forecast on Thursday. Ever the optimist I was hoping it would be wrong.

This pesky wind meant my friend couldn't fly his aeroplane over to Southend Airport ready for his night rating course this week. It also means I won't be able to renew my night rating with a one hour check flight with my instructor. But this is British weather for you. We'll just be hoping for better conditions in a week's time instead.

I met up with the girls for coffee and a chinwag at the airfield anyway and we enjoyed the fresh air and sunshine. We took it in turns playing with my friend's 3 year old and I had a hoot 'flying' the children's wooden aeroplane resulting in much laughter.

I drove home with the roof down on my MX-5 and enjoyed the empty country lanes as I blasted home. Much time was spent trying to figure out why my fridge had stopped working last night and eventually a kick temporarily sorted the problem. I'm not convinced it's fixed and felt rather grumpy about it all day.

I cooked a roast for one this evening as a friend had to cancel on me last minute. It couldn't be helped but I do prefer Sunday evenings with company. In fact, it did me a favour as I had some work to do this evening and more tidying around the house. Satisfying to get more chores finished but I'm still aware of much more sorting yet to do. Like rearranging my office furniture just as soon as I can persuade a nice strong guy to help me!

Another busy week ahead and slightly concerned I'm really not sleeping well at the moment (too much whirling away in my head) so I need to prioritise chilling out in the bath with a good book...if I can find the time!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.