Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Towel Day

Today is TOWEL DAY! For the uninitiated among you, click here to find out what it's all about!

I've been a massive Hitchhiker fan since college days, when it was practically a prerequisite for being able to understand organic chemistry tutorials as given at my College - stereoisomers and slartibartfast were discussed side by side, delocalized electrons and dentrassi mattresses intermingled freely, and the whole of the Hitchhiker story still brings back memories of tutorials on the roof, tutorials in punts, strong tea, jaffa cakes, and curly arrows showing what the electrons were up to!

Hitchhiker has also been the only way I've ever stayed sane moving house. I listen to the tapes on loop when I'm packing.

And Dirk Gently quotes spring to my mind easily and readily quite a lot of the time. I thought about the Suez crisis popping out for a bun only the other day.

So, YES, dear blip people, I really DO know where my towel is - it's underneath my Hitchhiker box set (really should move on from cassette tape soon).

What's more, Simon Jones was on BBC Breakfast this morning - just the voice is so evocative. He gave the presenters towels - they seemed a little confused.

Don't Panic dear presenters, you now know where your towels are!

As for the rest of the day - I didn't go to Scharwenka's to avoid driving with my back, but I did manage to clean out the girls' cages, taking it gently and slowly.

But now I have a solution to all problems:

Down a few pangalactic gargleblasters, then wrap my towel round my heads!

Cheers Douglas!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.