Farewell

So, farewell then, Dave Mackay. Legend. When men were men. And giants still walked the earth. I've maybe overegged some of that. Though he did win all three Scottish domestic honours with the Hearts and captained the team in 1957–58, when the club won the Scottish league title, breaking the British league goalscoring record with 132 goals for and only 29 conceded.
Mind you, I do believe the Spurs think he's one of them. And Derby County... I'll stop there.

Anyway, this was lunchtime when I was strolling on my way to pick up a record-breaking Boots meal deal. The snow which had swirled down earlier was all gone, apart from on the hills. But later, the heavens really opened. Not good for those of us with a new crease in our business troosers, dammit. On the plus side, the socks seemed to hold up ok.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.