The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Poem of the day

I found this in a cardboard portfolio marked "misc. posters and papers" in my study. Inexplicably, I had not opened it since moving house around 12 years ago! It dates back to a visit I paid to the British museum & Library shop (as it was then) with my students in September in 1990/1, being part of a series of Poems on the Underground (trains) posters and postcards. I still love it, and still recall that warm summer afternoon in Great Whatsisname Street.

Power cuts have been plaguing our school in recent days. and today South West power announced that they could no longer continue to track down the fault without switching everything off. So, as a desperate measure, the school and nursery (but not the post-19 unit) has been closed to pupils for the next three days. We staff shall bring in our gloves, coats, flasks of tea, and set to work cleaning and sorting out our classrooms, and doing paperwork by candlelight, presumably with those old-fashioned things called pens....

Mmm, three whole days of cleaning! If I close my eyes, breathe deeply, and let my scent-database roam free, I can already smell the Vim.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.