Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

A Bug's Life in Dennistoun Bush

With the early morning drizzle clearing, this afternoon I thought I'd go for another walk through Dennistoun Bush to see what I could find. Instead of looking for more shots of the majestic trees that fill the bush, I decided to go looking for some of its smallest inhabitants.

With my 60mm macro lens to the X-T1 primed and ready to go, I wasn't that far into the bush before seeing something that jumped out of me. Sitting on  a small strand of  lichen, growing on the branch of a spindly makomako, was little little bug, drying itself in a small patch of sunlight.

No bigger than 5mm tall and absolutely motionless, I thought it was actually dead until I lightly blew in its direction and it twitched in response. I guess I probably woke it from its dozing!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.