madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Wide Pregnant Friend?!

So I met up with my thankfully still pregnant friend today! She was up for a wide angle photo shoot which given the fact she is 9 days away from her due date, was very obliging of her! She has really filled out since the last time I saw her so is wide in every sense of the word! Possibly not the best subject for Hobb's   challenge of widwed01 ? Or maybe the perfect choice?! 
We had a good chat all afternoon, part of which was  about worry and being a worrier. If you are a worrier then no amount of rationalisation  and knowing that worrying won't change the outcome has any effect on stopping or even lessening your worry.  Over the course of her pregnancy she has had plenty to worry about too - the Braxton Hicks brought on by dehydration being the latest in her pregnancy saga.
Her mum joined us at one point and we got onto talking about horror films, can't remember how - she had been to see The Exorcist 2 weeks after giving birth,  I have to admit I laughed at this a lot as not the best time to be seeing such a film, better than seeing it before giving birth I suppose though! She lived opposite a "mental asylum" at the time, closed in the 1980's but still today the private dwellings are the talk of paranormal activities,  and so was disturbed by some of the activities occurring there, and she spoke about how people's tolerance for horror in films was not as high as it is now.  The only film I have ever walked out on was Peter Greenaway's The Cook, The Thief, His Wife and Her Lover.  His films are sumptuous in every respect, and this one is noted for it's formalism - lighting, music by Michael Nyman, costumes, sets, shot composition. The clothes by Jean Paul Gaultier  changed colour as the characters moved from the restaurant to the kitchen and bathroom! However by the time it got to the part where they were tearing pages out of the lovers books and ramming them down his mouth with a wooden spoon, I had had enough and could not imagine what further atrocities lay ahead so left the cinema. My boyfriend at the time stayed and said after that there was not anything worse after this - apart from the lovers cooking and then the Wife forcing her thief husband to eat him!!!
I think it was the fact that on many  levels the film could be considered an  Arts film  - and the portrayal of violence so real and believable, the contrast made me consider when was horror ever acceptable - how were we becoming immune to its portrayal through films from The Birds and The exorcist to Hellraiser and Seven?Let alone the myriad of other lesser films and the video games where violence and  killing are a mere gaming click. Now we bear witness to violence and death around the world - yet many simply don't engage with it, feel the horror of what is going on around us.Before I go on to question the term horror and its application to life and films I think I better stop! 

The drive home was phenomenal with a clear sky and near full moonas the sun set in glorious colours. A journey which should have taken 30 minutes took well over an hour as I kept stopping to take photographs! Must brush up on moon photography before the full moon tomorrow!!

Portly Lucy update - as I was unexpectedly visiting my friend, it had to be a quick walk this am - Lucy usually runs as we leave the house as she is so excited, so today I ran with her, thinking this would give her more exercise. Well who knew what a great little runner she is on those little legs! I'm not sure who panted more or recovered quicker, and it was 50/50 who was going to pass out first! But running is now going to be part of her morning exercise!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.