In the Desert

Oh, I could get used to this! It really is pamper palace here. The buffet breakfast is to die for. There are so many things to choose from, I think I could stay there all day if it wasn't that I'm filled up too quickly. Every morning there's a knock on the door and a man stands there with fruit (plums yesterday, apples today) and a packet of beautiful dates.

We wander out to the pools (there are several to choose from) and lie there reading at a perfect temperature (shade for me, Marian likes the sun). At lunch it's buffet again and again lots of great choice and when you get to dessert, omg, what delights! We've taken to having a short snooze in the afternoon after all this effort and then there's time for another visit to the pool area before the sun sinks.

There are lots of little birds buzzing around the place. Mostly sparrows and doves of various sizes and varieties, but there are also hoopoes, mynahs and other little birds that we haven't been able to identify yet.

There's time for a shower before making the choice of where to eat in the evening. Tonight we went to the roof garden for an arabic meal with a soundtrack from a singer playing a bazouki type instrument with a warm breeze blowing through. There will be fireworks later if I can stay up for them.

Today as the sun got low I wandered out of the complex into the desert to see what I could see. This guy on a camel came through and made a great shot. He is the man that gives the camel experience at the resort but this shot of him on his way home seems much more satisfactory than the one with people climbing on and off.

Yes, I could get used to this. 

David

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.