Levitation lessons

Well, actually, part of the gym and dance display at school, but with a student caught mid flight.

I was asked to photograph the rehearsals this afternoon, and it turned out to be one of the most difficult things I have ever photographed.  There was a lot of fast action, often by gymnasts wearing black outfits, in a hall with black (or dark) backgrounds, and with patchy low light (apart from a couple of narrow very bright shafts of sunlight creeping through the gaps in the curtains).  Much of the time it was like photographing a black cat in a dark cellar.  Trying to freeze action was almost impossible, and none of the pictures I captured was critically sharp - partly the effect of noise from the higher ISOs I had to use.

Never mind, there were some interesting pictures, although I cannot show the best here as students are readily identifiable in most of them.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.