Fridays

Fridays should always be like this.

Started with tea and cake with friends at Wakehurst. Those who know me will know that I am no longer the svelte young man I was when I was fitter than a racing snake. Some might even opine that I should swerve the cake; but wait! This was carrot and seed cake and that makes it ultra-healthy. In fact even though the piece I had was only slightly smaller than Basingstoke had I managed another I might well be able to run a marathon tomorrow. Healthy eating is important!

Then I dropped someone back in East Grinstead and headed for the coast. Down through the Ashdown Forest to Sheffield Park and then across to Lewes and on to Newhaven and Peacehaven. This photo shows the rolling chalk downs abruptly cut-off by erosion to show the Seven Sisters chalk cliffs to the right and Birling Gap nestled in a fold of land around the middle of the shot. Belle Tout light  is on the headland to the left.

From here along the seafront at Eastbourne, along the coast to Bexhill and then Hastings, Winchelsea and Rye before heading inland through Tendterden and home. Lovely chat with friends, lovely weather, fantabulous sights, plenty of fresh air and time to unwind and relax. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.