Steaming from Carrog

Today I went to Steel, Steam & Stars, a steam gala at the Llangollen Railway. There were about six different steam engines going up and down the track and lots of very keen spectators and photographers (mostly male and of a certain age).
One of the volunteers got chatting to me and told me about how he went to school on a steam train and how his brother got into trouble for tying a boy onto a luggage truck. He went up and down the line three times before he was discovered. When being taken to task for this his excuse was "He got on my nerves"!
This shot is of a double header, one of which was the very large Central Star, a youngster from 1959 and a classmate of Evening Star, the last steam engine to be built. It was leaving Carrog Station on it's way to Llangollen. I'd have liked the engines facing the front but it wasn't to be!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.