McZoo

By McZoo

Productive Free Friday

I was supposed to be in our busy county hospital labor and delivery unit today, but there were a ton of other people there (fellows, OB/GYN and FM residents, students, attendings, residents on OB/GYN specialty blocks) and the patient volume wasn't matching up. So immediately after check out I was released. 

Came home and with the help of an excellent Craftsy class made a game plan for the much belated start on my husband's anniversary present. It is going to take a couple more materials, but on the bright side I figured out a pattern. I was supposed to work on this the whole month I was staying with mom, but that didn't happen. So, I've known for awhile that he would not be getting the finished project on our anniversary (not a big deal), however after some education on the magnitude of this undertaking I'm not sure he'll be getting it this year (big deal). Guess I'm just going to have to work really hard huh?

This afternoon I had a peer adviser orientation, as I've been selected to be one of the fourth years helping to guide the 3rd years through residency applications and such. It was a productive discussion about our roles and ideas on how to reach more students. They ended up hiring a bunch more than they usually do, so we will see how many hours all of us are able to get. Loved the home made bars one of the bosses made (and brought some home to husband). It was also really awesome to have the opportunity to catch up with everyone else who will be taking this on. I feel like I haven't seen most of my classmates for over a year, and they chose some good people for this. It is also nice to be in a position where we feel more comfortable discussing things that would have once been taboo (grades, board scores, shortcomings, changes of life plans). I like seeing that this residency application, interview, match process has been a growing process for us all.

After the extra hours that I spent losing track of time catching up with people (swapping stories of rotations and interviews), I headed home to get ready to go out with the husband. He has been craving Cane Rosso pizza since last Friday (when I was supposed to return from mom's). When we went to get him some Sunday night (when I did get back), they weren't open. So this particular food experience has been on the calendar for awhile. In the photograph he is digging into his SECOND pizza. He only had a couple of slices left over.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.