Opportunities

We got our regularly scheduled attending back today. The day was pretty normal: get assigned a patient to see when the attending arrives, go see and present your patient, get lunch, come back and have some type of lecture. Today we had a "lecture" on visualization of the tympanic membrane. He brought a bunch of photos of the TM and had us look at them and determine what we thought each one represented. Then we went around in a circle describing our findings and thoughts. The main point of the lecture was that despite all the fancy medical language we use to describe what we see when we look in someone's ears the bottom line is you can't have a middle ear infection without both a color change and the presence of fluid behind the eardrum. I feel like it was a very useful exercise that might make me better at this in the pediatric clinic.

Found this quote on the child life board on my way out and loved it so much that it just had to be my blip for today. (You might not know this, but I collect quotes because I love them so much. I used to have journals full of them in middle school and high school.)

This evening I went to a presentation on the National Health Service Corps opportunities for scholarships and loan repayment. This has become more and more intriguing to me since I have decided to pursue family medicine since it is a primary care specialty and therefore eligible for a lot more of these programs. There were only 3 students present, which was a dismal and disappointing showing, but allowed for a lot of one on one attention. (The presenter was prepared for 40 students.) There was one program discussed that would be a perfect fit for my career goals. When I got home and discussed its requirements and obligations with my husband he was excited and supportive. Now I'm looking forward to applying in the fall. :) It is so exciting to see your future falling into place in ways you never thought possible.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.