Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Every picture should tell a story...

That is one of the challenges for photographers ... to have our pictures tell a story.  Sometimes I succeed, other times I don't.  Probably the same for everyone.  I think this pictures tells a pretty clear story, though - the one about the dedication of avian parents to their young.  

There is a small colony of brown pelicans who nest on the grounds of the  Ellie Schiller Homosassa Springs Wildlife State Park where hubs and I met up with The Sefferdogs today.  What you see here is the "changing of the guard" at the nest - after some discussion, one parent carefully got off the nest as was immediately replaced by the other parent who then meticulously turned the eggs.  Quite an amazing thing to see - most certainly blip-worthy.

I took over 900 shots today and even after I whittled them down to about 100, I had to have Hubs help me pick the blip.  For him it was between the brown pelicans, some white pelicans with breeding knobs on their bills or a rather lovely Little Blue Heron, perched above the water.  For me, it would have been an impossible decision.  If you really have nothing pressing to do, continue beyond the little blue heron on Flickr for another 15 shots, starting HERE with one that should make you laugh.

After spending 3 plus hours with camera clicking madly and our spouses bravely trying not to look bored out of their minds, Wade and I finally clicked our final shots and we all left the park.  Off to a lunch where I ate too much and laughed just the right amount.  Going to miss those two - what great people!

Hope you are having a good weekend, people.

TTFN,
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.