Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Fly by...

Still beset with extreme cabin fever, I decided to drive 40 minutes north to Wallkill River NWR, right on the NJ/NY border. I was driving down the road when I saw a red-tailed hawk perched on a power line. Quick glance in the rear-view confirmed that mine was the only car on the road so I stopped, rolled down the window, stuck Big Daddy out and got exactly 3 shots as the hawk took off. Of the three, this was definitely the best. I did sharpen it a bit, and it is slightly cropped. I was close enough I didn't even have to zoom out much at all, this was taken at 240 mm!

Blip in the bag - I mean, seriously, was I going to get better than a shot of a red-tailed hawk in flight? Nope. Didn't even try. Of the three shots I took the other "keeper" was this one - not quite as crisp as the hawk was nearly out of the frame when I fired. Still, I like it.

Red-tails are very common hawks throughout North America. They are in the Buteo family and are large raptors, averaging 19-25 inches in length (48-63 cm) and with a wingspan of 4 feet. They feed mainly on rodents although they will dine on small birds if they can catch them. They are monogamous, often mating for multiple years or life.

I did take two shots of the mockingbird today - but unkown if this Marilyn or her beau, who has been hanging around. Tail cocked and showing some 'tude and the alternative shot looking in the window at me while I tried to work

Got lots accomplished today, even with the brief trip north. Hubs and I are meeting with the President of the Chamber of Commerce and her hubby for dinner tonight which will be fun. Sushi...always a treat.

Busy weekend ahead, including a road-trip on Sunday with two birder/photographer friends. Stay tuned...

Happy Friday, People!

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.