Capturing my Journey

By thedoglady

Join up

Had a fantastic day with our quarter horses today. We had a natural horsemanship instructor come and give us a lesson at the arena we hire from time to time. It was a really interesting day and we all learnt sooo much. This is Tango and my husband watching on.

One of the things we did was join up but on mass scale. We aim with our horses for them to undertand us and us to understand them enough that we can work at liberty with them which means no ropes halters etc. So we have to build a strong connection involving a lot of understanding and trust. We decided it would be fun to test how much our horses wanted to be with us by letting them loose that's 4 horses 4 owners and trying to encourage them to stay with us. Needless to say one by one they all left us to go play with each other. So we then moved the herd around the arena and anytime your own horse looked at you you had to stop moving and encourage them to come to you and then if they didn't move them on until they looked again. It was amazing seeing the 4 horses running together and communicating to each other and us all the time. Eventually one by one horses began to reconnect with their owners. Mine was the last and I had been speaking with the instructor about struggling to connect with my mare I had to work pretty hard but suddenly she just connected and came to me and with me with no rope. It felt AMAZING!!!

Exhausted from all the concentrating. Dogs were glad to see us when we got home. Bud is celebrating his 1st birthday today and I'm celebrating my something 1st Birthday!! Got some lovely cards and loads and loads of chocolate yum yum yum!!

4c SSE 3mph wind sunshine and showers, mainly sunshine thankfully!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.