Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Venus

This morning Mum and I went to Greenhead Farmers' Market, a favourite of ours. As usual we came back with lots of lovely food and had met a good number of people we know.

This afternoon, I was a seat filler for a trip to Kielder Observatory with the U3A.  I'm not a member, but someone had to drop out, so I took his place on the coach.  This was the first clear night for weeks, so we were lucky. Unfortunately, we were the first slot of the evening so we were there from 5 - 7pm and the skies just started to darken in the last half hour.

It was perishingly cold despite full thermals and layers, gloves, hat etc. 

They have power from a wind turbine, a "natural toilet" and have to carry water to the place.  My friend,Jenny, was locked in the toilet due to a faulty lock, but I'm not mentioning it here, because Mum has a fear of this happening to her!!

We all looked through 2 different telescopes and were shown how to identify a few useful "landmarks" in the sky.

I took this photo more to pass the time than in any real hope. I had to use a very high iso and aimed to show a silhouette. In the event Venus has also shown in the image.

Thawing out now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.