Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

The Sculpture Park

Amazing! Not even one work commitment today.  It must be a first for over six weeks.  

I stayed in bed a while with, seemingly, the best cups of tea ever, twiddled my thumbs and wondered what I could do with my new found freedom. My bliss was broken by the incessant plodding of wide awake dogs and the sound of bleating sheep. Oh well, it lasted long enough to make me feel so much better. 

I found James and his girlfriend in the kitchen, nursing hangovers, wondering what to do for the day.  A number of people have suggested the Valley Sculpture Park in Churt as a destination for the photography group so I suggested we give it a try. 

The area the park covers is not as immense as their collection of art. You can pick up a work for anything from just under a hundred quid to many more than fifty thousand.  I mentally spent a million in there. 

It was really quite magical walking the trail lined with sculptures, some truly marvellous, others, my heart cries "what the ...". 
Art is in the eye of the beholder and out there, somewhere, there will be someone who appreciates what I think would be best melted down or crushed. I would have preferred more space between the works but that is a photographers criticism. There really were some truly beautiful and interesting pieces that would have come home with me, had I the spare cash to invest. 

This image is of the inside of a crazy giant iron bottle. To me, the outside was far from anything I would want to adorn my garden but, the real sculpture was the spiralling inside, full of rain water. rotting vegetation, and a cup. I've removed the latter that was left by another person who thought of it as no more important than a litter bin.

A couple of hours and the kids were arted out.  We headed home via the heath to give the dogs a well deserved run having been on leads all day. 

The blanket sold last night for £90. We had expected a little more but, I'm more than happy with the result.  :)
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.