Bus Challenge No 53!!/Pub Challenge No 3!!

Today was my only chance to get out on a Bus Challenge this week, so, with a wet weather forecast, I decided to stay close to home and headed into Bath to the BRLSI to see a new exhibition entitled 'Bath and the Nile Explorers'.

The exhibition focused on the connection that Bath had with early Nile explorers, in particular looking at the lives of Captain Richard Francis Burton and Captain John Hanning Speke, who in 1856 were sponsored by the Royal Geographical Society to explore the river systems of Central Africa and to find the source of the Nile, long before Livingstone and Stanley got up to their exploits!

Coincidentally, Speke later died in a tragic accident while out shooting in1864 in Box, which is where he was living at the time, and where I happened to be for last week's Bus Challenge.

After our visit to the exhibition, my friend and I had time to kill before the bus so we decided to head to the nearby Raven pub, in order to tick off another pub on my Pub Challenge list! You may recognise this street as I blipped it last month from the other end.

I have drawn a complete blank in trying to track down the lost pub that used to be run by Baron's cousin. Today I went in to Bath's central library but they were unable to shed any light on the matter. They did however give me details of a website called Bath In Time which is an online archive of old photos of Bath (you might recognise something Baron), and they also gave me details of a Local Studies Librarian who might be able to do some research on the matter (if you would like her details Baron, just let me know).

So that aspect of my pub challenge has ended, but there are still plenty of Bath pubs out there to be discovered, the challenge continues!!

Bus journey times = 50 mins

(Not a long or difficult bus journey today, but the aim of my Bus Challenges has always been to discover something new, and that's what I did today!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.