Getting To The Root Of It All!

Today I was in DC and I met up with my friend Antonia and we went to the United States Botanic Garden.  It was a very nice way to spend a couple of hours and I was especially pleased to have my friend with me as it is my Birthday today and it's always nice to be with a friend!  

I could have shared all kinds of beautiful pictures of orchids, ferns or succulents, but this special exhibit was really very interesting.  The exhibit is called - Exposed:  The Secret Life of Roots.  From their website:

"Plant roots are vital components of the earth's ecosystem. They are necessary for plant growth, including the production of food and nutrients for humans and many other organisms. However, as root systems are out of sight, their beauty and importance often go unnoticed. This exhibit uses the work of Agricultural Ecologist Dr. Jerry Glover and photographer Jim Richardson to showcase the importance of roots through visually stunning root representations."


I was quite taken with this shot as it shows how deep the roots of different grasses and grains go down into the soil.  Most of these grasses are from the prairies and other dry climates so you can see how far they have to go down to reach water.  

For more pictures from my outing check out this Flickr album.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.