The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Signs

Soon the buds on this sycamore close to the Kent estuary will be swelling and the new foliage bursting forth.  The buds on the Amelanchier in our garden are enlarging as the inflorescences develop for their brief flowering.  I was told today that the first sand martins are already back, catching early flies over the lagoons at Leighton Moss.  While the earliest flowers, such as the snowdrops, have now finished flowering for another year.  Last night on the low walls around the flower beds, there was a slug fest, I've never seen so many.

This is the beginning of Spring which will build rapidly as the days go by, and every day there will be something fresh and new to savour..

And the good news was when I went into work this morning, there draped over my chair was the lovely wool scarf woven by Sydney and sent from Seattle two months ago.  I had been fretting overnight and when out with Gus this morning as to what I had done with it.  Such a heart felt relief to find it.

And if anyone needs some Gus tonic, here he is.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.