Capturing my Journey

By thedoglady

The cows

Took the dogs for a walk on the beach today think I must be mad! It was wet and windy and I spent the whole time with my head bent leaning into the wind no idea where or what the dogs were up to because looking into the rain really hurt!! They did seem to enjoy themselves. I on the other hand got very wet! My waterproofs are not waterproof anymore.

We managed to borrow a machine to put out bales for the cows today but it was a big heavy telehandler so husband and I had to move the ring feeders by hand down to near the track so the telehandler didn't need to go off the track. One of the feeders did take off on us and I had visions of it disappearing and trashing a fence in the process but thankfully it turned in on itself and slowed to stop on the track. The cows now have new bales of silage and seem happy about it. I noticed that a couple of the cows are "bagging up" which means their udders are beginning to fill with milk. As you can see if you look at the lightest cow in this picture. I couldn't put a bale in with the sheep as the machine was just too heavy for the wet ground so they will have to wait until the tractor is fixed.

Got some lamb neck stew cooking in the slow cooker for dinner tonight and I can smell it already getting hungry for it!

I was excited be in Chantler63s top 5 for my mono Monday this week!!

6c 30mph S wind easing by the afternoon. Heavy rain in the morning that dried up by 2pm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.