Derelict Gatepost

A day of broadband woes.....

Our broadband speed (which has never been particularly zippy) has dropped to almost a quarter of the normal value - 4.5 Mb down to just over 1 Mb. Things are really beginning to creak!

So I contacted the help desk today and after waiting to be answered ..."your call is important to us, but we don't have enough staff so you'll have to wait" .... finally got through to a 'technician' who ran some diagnostics which confirmed what I had told him. 

So he had to consult a 'super technician' who basically told him to leave the diagnostics running for 24 hours. They will call back tomorrow.

It has recovered slightly to just under 2 Mb (although the speed test I ran reported 1.3 Mb)!

BT have been digging up the road and installing new cabinets for fibre optic broadband - I wonder if they have broken something.

To rub salt in the wound I had an email this afternoon proudly announcing that fibre optic was now available - but when I clicked on the checker it said sorry not yet available, but I had a 5 Mb connection (if only).

Anyway.... my entry for Derelict Thursday is this old wooden gate post I spotted this afternoon - forlornly lying on the ground - whilst its bright blue steel replacement can be seen in the background

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.