And For My Next Project...

I have a plan to digitise all of our old film negatives - and to do this I have converted my old enlarger into a 'copy stand'. I had a prototype, but there was too much gaffer tape about, so I set about it properly.

I cut the enlarger head in half and fitted some wooden braces across the inside. To the front of the head I affixed a piece of MDF and then to this I fitted a quick release plate to hold the camera in a vertical position. A double bubble level confirms it is vertical and level!

The negatives are held in an old negative carrier and my 105mm macro lens is attached to the camera. The light source is a daylight lightbox under the negatives.

Initial tests are very encouraging. I need to add a small extension to the lens so that the negative covers the whole frame. The detail is such that you can see the grain in the film emulsion.

I need to do a bit of work on the colour balance - I have added an extra - a shot of me (taken twenty years ago, please don't laugh)!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.