Chimneys

This may be the last photograph I ever take - or blip - of the Cockenzie Power Station towers. We are always being told they are about to be knocked down. They would be missed in this landscape. Of course, given current uncertainties, it may be the last blip I ever post. Who knows? Well, it's been a blast, and I don't want to lose touch with people, so I have left my email address on my profile page in case anyone wants to make a note of it.

And I'm also busy downloading my blips as pdfs, but that's slow progress with well over 1500 to do altogether. I made good progress last night after I got back from the Netherlands, but this evening I'm feeling as limp as a dishrag after a lovely ride with the Belles out to Aberlady and back. We followed some of the same route as last time, but then kept going beyond Cockenzie House, where we had lunch last time, through Cockenzie and Port Seton on the back roads, back on to the main road, and finally into Aberlady, where we enjoyed an excellent lunch at the Aberlady Old Inn. They put us on our own table in the restaurant, at the back of the pub, and while the service inevitably took a little while, it was none the less a great meal, with plenty of time for chat and laughter. I realised that the endorphins coursing through my body from all the exercise made me about as noisy as I am when I've had a few drinks and I'm with really good friends. Mostly, especially these days, I'm a rather silent companion, but not when I've had good exercise.

Coming back was easier than last time, when the prevailing westerly was blowing. This time we were blown gently home by an easterly, under skies  that continued to offer glimpses of sunlight on what remained quite a chilly day. We stopped briefly to regroup by one of the car parks at Longniddry, and I took this quick shot, with my maximum zoom, from the other side of the road. There was no time to cross the road and get a better composition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.