Photogen

By Photogen

Highland cattle

Although Highland cattle have been exported all over the world I like to see them in their natural environment. This herd near Mugdock I rarely glimpse on my walks,  so I took the opportunity today to blip them. They were some distance away, but one started walking towards me away from the herd. I was not the attraction as the beast was thirsty and was lumbering up to a watering hole.  I waited till it got there and this improved the composition of the picture. I'd certainly no intention of advancing into their territory!

Their hair is the longest of any cattle breed affording protection from cold, windy and wet conditions - and we have had plenty of those recently. Their skill in grazing and finding plants that many other cattle avoid allows them to survive on very poor land. I like all the subtle brown tones of the larches, vegetation and their hairy coats in this shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.