madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

Well good job I had a quiet day yesterday as this one was busy and rather strange but good!
As I entered the woods with Portly Lucy I heard a voice - it was Cameraman on his way with Jasmine from his garden for his wife's grave. She is buried in the woods, on my ex-boyfriends plot of woodland, looking down over the river Tamar as it winds past Cotehele House.On the day of her funeral we met her on the quay as she came up the river in her wicker coffin covered in sweet peas, we processed through the village, had a mix of song, music, laughter and tears in The Arts Chapel before walking up into the woods to her final resting place.Today her grave is covered in Hellebores, Violets, Wild Primroses, small Daffodils. She was a true individual, ran a gorgeous shop in the village called Joint Stock! She was a mother to 3. My mum is scattered with my dad on the ground under the magnolias they planted when my sister and I were born. Their non-religious  services were quite different - just the three of us for my dad, my sister and I for mum. They were well loved and known but we had no need to make the day more torturous than it was already going to be by inviting others. We had another day when they came and were able to speak their grief to us who remained. At my mums "do" it was the first time I cried - in anger and grief - anger at them for looking at me to soothe their grief, they gave me no solace.
But that was then - today I remembered her like I do on other days, with love, respect, sadness. I shall not go into the reasons why I dislike this day like I  did the "Big Moment"!!!!!! Suffice to say it is not because she is gone and  not because I am not one ( my choice, very happy thank you!) 
Anyway I left him  with his wife and made my way back to the sound of radio 4 that the people opposite play to keep the fox away from their chickens! When I asked the Cameraman about this he said his wife was fond of Radio 4, but he didn't think she was that interested in chickens! On the way back I tried to get a photo of their fine Rooster, but he was off chasing the hens! Did catch the 2 goats in front of their chalet!!!
So - a wander round a graveyard today!!!! All of this can be seen here! It is of course part of  youoregon1's  Cemetery Sunday! 
It was cold but beautiful -  full of life; spring flowers blooming, birds singing, rabbits nibbling the grass, squirrels climbing the trees. I discovered graves I had not seen on previous wanderings - I do like a good graveyard!! I found 2 brothers who went down with the Titanic, the inscription was beautiful, also a headstone on the wall of the church from 1743, beautifully carved. I had already found the grave with the inscription I liked on a previous weeks scouting - 

Consider well both young and old
Who by my grave do pass
Death soon may come with his keen scythe
Though some of you perhaps may think
From danger you be free,
Yet in a moment may be sent
Into the grave like me.
     
The inscription above urges his wife to :-

Weep not for me nor shed a tear
But imitate a peaceful life
And live in love and not in strife

I think it all good words on how to live now, joyfully, appreciatively, grateful. Not putting of things to do  later in life when you have the time - the time is now!

So - home, hoover downstairs, answer the doorbell! Nellie of the Woods and her partner Barry ( aka The Milkman as it is he who put me off milk!!) came in for a chat and tea with Almond milk! We spoke of solitude, the killing of insects, Blipfoto, Art and carbon footprints and planting trees to offset air miles! ( Colourful Mai does this!)

Hospital trip tomorrow - another scan for friend, drop her daughter at the bus station as she has this done, visit my neighbour who worryingly is still in there. But sometime this week The Weaver has asked me to take photographs of his rugs, so fun ahead!!
     
P.S. I did of course also visit the chickens and give them treats as well as putting them to bed later! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.