The quiet cemetery

I've blipped the peaceful churchyard which was attached to the now closed St Matthew's Mental Hospital in Burntwood, Staffordshire (not far from  the cathedral city of Lichfield)

I've focussed on the abandoned gravestones, marked only with F or M and numbers in threes (they waited for three deaths of the same sex before transferring the patients to their resting place). You can just make out a couple of them leaning against the tree at the back. where they have just been abandoned.

Daffodils thrive in this soil, earlier than many elsewhere in this part of the county, and they are the classic Staffordshire daffodils, as protected in the reserve of George's Hayes. There was an outcry a few years ago when they were just mown over, thoughtlessly.

A useful morning.  I tried out the local bus for a trip to Lichfield to upgrade my phone. I spent longer waiting  in the shop than I did either walking to the bus or waiting. I hope it's been successful. I'm about to check all the phone numbers and email addresses that they failed to transfer...... wish me luck.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.