Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

A Way Of Life..........

I was born in Cardiff and about 1964, I moved to Grangetown, Cardiff when my dad bought his first shop. Ninian Park was about a mile away. A couple of players were in digs opposite my house. Alan Warboys, David Giles, Peter Sayer, etc.  Me, my brother and friends were always out playing football. A couple of times we knocked around in the street with these players - things were different then! When they finished playing around the age of 30, many were forced to get 'proper jobs' as their pay wasn't good. Now Cardiff players can be on £10-40K a week. Crazy.

I used to go and watch these players training, and started going to matches regularly since about 1968. Even though I played rugby, football and athletics for the school, and Cardiff Schools, football was always my first love. Supporting the team is part of my life. More downs than up!

Cardiff got relegated from the Premiership last season and this season hasn't seen the surge for promotion that most were expecting. The football has been poor. But, as a supporter you keep going - despite all the turmoil and poor atmosphere surrounding the kit colour change. Thank goodness it's gone back to blue from the red.

Today was that time of the year to renew my season ticket. It's been tempting not too, but the price has gone down. I'd miss it and the company of my son, so I stumped up the money, again.

And so it is with blipping. I started on my Facebook page on 1st April 2013 and when a friend mentioned Blipfoto, I signed up and it's become a way of life. I think I've improved as a result of constantly being on the look out for a pic, and seeing fellow blippers efforts. I've made some friends. I enjoy it.

It was a bit of a shock to find out the Blip woes a few days ago. A couple of hours ago I read they've gone into liquidation. I'd paid for life membership and a 365 book. Shit!  I've signed up at www.365project.org and I've put a number of others on to it. Many have followed. Great!

I will carry on here as well as posting at 365. I will try and transfer as many of my blips before the web servers close down as the bills won't be paid by the look of it. I don't know what happened to Polaroid's involvement. I just wish Blipfoto had been excellent with us as they urged us to be to each other. A bit of straight talk (an announcement) would have made a world of difference. Straight talk and honesty seems lacking in so many areas these days.

Blipping is now a way of life for me as following Cardiff City. I hope you'll follow me to the 'otherside' until we know if the lights are to be switched off at Blipfoto or not.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.