No Yolk!

Going out for Breakfast is one of life's simple pleasures!  

It was a dark and very rainy day today - poor Dolly didn't even beg for a walk!  So I was grateful for a bright and colourful breakfast to capture for my daily blip!  A dear friend took me out for 'Brunch' - and treated me as a late birthday meal.  Since I had a 'Birthday Breakfast' a few days ago, one friend on Facebook was cheeky enough to say I was being 'greedy'!  I laughed and replied that I reserve the right to have as many birthday breakfasts as I wish!  

We went to a fairly new place in Reading, called Cafe Yolk - a pleasant little cafe near the University with a nice atmosphere and a varied menu with both English and North American style breakfasts.  This was the Mexican omelette.  Not quite as 'smothered' as I am used to in the US, but delicious.  I will definitely go there again.  Anyone in Reading want to meet me there?  


Otherwise the day had a certain sadness about it as the rumours and our worst fears were confirmed at lunchtime today - blipfoto has gone into liquidation.  Although sad for all the members of  the site, I am even more sad for the creator, Joe Tree and all those who work for blipfoto, who are grieving far more than we are. 

Along with many others, I have spent a great deal of time this weekend and today urgently backing up all my journal entries from the last 15 months since I joined blipfoto.  I had already saved the photos but I also wanted to save the text of my journals.  It's hard to live with the uncertainty - whether the plug will suddenly be pulled and everything disappear or whether someone will buy the company so that blipfoto will continue.  Although not as active as some in the great blip community, I have enjoyed the fun and challenge of taking part and finding something worthy of sharing every day.  Sometimes it has been therapeutic as it's pushed me to go do something interesting and fun instead focusing too much on the mundane of life.  And of course I will miss numerous friends which I have got to know through their postings and their beautiful photography, which frequently challenges me as a still very amateur photographer.  

In case blipfoto suddenly disappears, I have joined the 365 Project under the same name HomeAndAway.  I will keep posting on blipfoto as long as the website is still live.  

My email address and links to my Flickr account and 365 Project are on my profile page.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.