Wedding Anniversary

Today would have been my parent's 59th wedding anniversary. Bill and Joanie were married in Lansing, Michigan.  They married on a snowy St Patrick's Day afternoon and had one, almost 2, car accidents later that evening - no one was hurt, but the car ended up in a ditch!  A few months after they were married they moved to Germany and later to Switzerland and then to England where they lived for the rest of their lives.  After a short illness my father died a day after their 26th wedding anniversary, and my mother also passed away 22 years later.  

I tried to find their wedding album which I saw very recently so I know it's here somewhere!  I had hoped to do something mildly creative with it for my blip today, but instead I have just uploaded the digital version of one of the pictures, which I saved some time ago.  Forgive me, blipfoto, for breaking one of the rules - to only post a picture which we have taken on the same day!  

My parents had a fairly modest and low-budget wedding.  My mother wore a borrowed dress and it was merely a 'cake and punch' reception, which actually was not that uncommon in the US, even 25 years ago when I lived there.  What's really hard to believe is that my parent's wedding album consisted of only 6 pictures.  Yes, that's right - Six!  Times (and budgets!) have obviously changed in the last 59 years, based on some of the wedding albums I've seen.  Aren't we blessed to live in an age of digital photography? My goodness - I go for a simple walk with my dog and I can come home with 50 or more pictures!  

I had already planned to share this picture today and then I read what TerryBob wrote….he mentions that it was HIS parent's 59th wedding anniversary today - and he shares a picture from their wedding on his 365Project picture for today.  What a coincidence is that?  


On the blipfoto front, we are all very encouraged to finally hear more news today of what is going on with the company.  It seems there is light at the end of the tunnel - work going on behind the scenes to keep blipfoto going in the long-term!  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.