maddischeib

By maddischeib

UCONN huskies

It is finally time for my favorite time of the year. Some may think I’m talking about spring, but I’m actually talking about March Madness. For those of you who don’t know, March Madness is a tourney of all the best college basketball teams. Every team eligible to play in the tourney wants one thing: to get to the final four. This is when the last four teams play each other to determine what two teams will make it to the championship. Last year, my favorite basketball team won it all. The UConn Huskies beat everyone in their way including the undefeated Kentucky Wildcats. That was a HUGE upset.
I remember watching every game intently, jumping out of my seat way too many times. When they made it to the Final Four, I think I cried. I was so proud of them.
This year the Huskies will not be playing in the tourney. Their season was cut short by SMU and the garbage refs. I don’t usually talk bad about the refs, but they were so bad. Even devoted fans of SMU agreed that UConn not only had to play against the Mustangs, but also the referees.
UConn’s PG, Ryan Boatright, got punched in the face during the first two minutes of the game. There was no foul called at all, and from that point I knew it was going to be a bad game. He also got hurt later in the game, but of course there were no fouls called then either.
That entire game mad me so mad. After losing to the Mustangs, they went on to play ASU in the NIT tourney. They lost to them and their season is over now.
Boatright was not able to play in their last game because he jammed his shoulder during the 2nd half of the SMU game. His senior season ended with him sitting on the bench.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.