Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

No use crying over spilt milk

...so let's just get on with it and hope that the new shareholders of Blipfoto share our sentiments about this site and do not change the culture and identity of it too drastically.

Yesterday afternoon I collected my newly repaired camera from Nikon head office and I was delighted to get it back in time for the Parents' Camera Group meeting at the boys school, which was last night. We split into three groups and I was in the group doing splash art, freezing drips of milk using a super piece of equipment that the school has in its studio. Now that photography is being offered as part of the Art course for A levels, the school has a really well stocked studio with wonderful bits of equipment like this little gadget. I have tried at home to freeze drip shots before but it is almost impossible to get right, and this simple piece of equipment synchronises the shutter closing at the same time as the drip. It was enormous fun, once we got it to work properly, and so I am including it in my journal as I doubt I will ever get another drip shot again (not having that equipment at home). I know it does not qualify as a shot taken today, but it was taken very late last night and so was only a couple of hours short of today.

Tonight we are going to the quinquennial Whole School Concert at the boys' school. Every five years, so once in a boys time at the school, they perform a concert involving every boy in the school singing Psalm 122 which was written for the school by Howard Goodall. The work is scored for the orchestra, organ, Chamber Choir, Choristers and some additional female singers borrowed from surrounding schools. The School Symphony Orchestra is also performing Tchaikovsky's Nutcracker Suite. I am really looking forward to it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.