Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Hooded Oriole

I had to look in my Southwestern States Audubon Society book to identify this oriole.  It wasn't one of the more common ones that were listed in my two Southern Arizona books.

It said it comes to southern Arizona and SW New Mexico from March through August, so it has just arrived!  It made itself at home on the hummingbird feeder, too.  I guess there are going to be a whole bunch of birds who are not going to be satisfied with plain old filtered water.

I just missed a female cardinal who was sitting in the ocotillo yesterday morning.  Had I not been stuck on the phone (I hung up as soon as I saw it but I was too late by the time I found my camera) I could have gotten her.

I love Springtime.  I'm going to try to sit outside as motionless as possible and hope these wonderful creatures will still come by.  I really don't like having to shoot through the door and stay inside.  It is  fun to watch the little finches play in the water, though.  It's like watching small children splashing in a bath tub with glee.  Pure joy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.