The Way I See Things

By JDO

Solar eclipse

I'm sure I'll see better photos of the eclipse on here and elsewhere today, but given that we had cloud cover this morning I'm very happy to have been able to grab a few shots through it. And at least I didn't have to worry that I hadn't equipped myself with a 10-stop ND filter in time!

CH and I both noticed the same odd phenomenon this morning: even though the sky didn't darken all that much, the birds went very quiet and still through the eclipse, as though they were unhappy about it. Now it has finished they're back singing and flying around as normal.

EDIT: after going through all my shots this afternoon, I found some from later in the eclipse - just before the sky cleared too much for me to want to keep shooting - that I liked more, so I decided to change my blip.

There's also now a short sequence on Flickr, starting here with the weird light we had in the early part of the eclipse, before any breaks appeared in the cloud.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.